Got Milk? Got Fat?

I read this heavily slanted article in USA Today and my take-away was this:

  • US Taxes paid for the “Got Milk” campaign (created by Goodby Silverstein & Partners)
  • When doing a milk comparison, no shows you how whole milk stacks up. Only 2% milk because whole milk has more fat.
  • The Academy of Nutrition and Sciences is sponsored by the National Dairy Council, so you’ll have to take everything they say with a grain of salt…and a cup of milk.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/2015/02/22/dairy-plant-milk-soy-coconut-choices/23489445/

I guess my beef with this article is the American line of thinking that cow’s breast milk is necessary in the diet of grown-ass human adults.

I’m not anti-dairy. I’m really not. I’m from the South where diary is considered a vegetable. Literally all of my favorite dishes are made with dairy. I also love tequila, I just don’t pretend it’s good for me.

And for the record, the “Got Milk” campaign started in 1993. The 90’s is when the US obesity rates started skyrocketing. Before the 90’s, Americans were pudgy, after the 90’s Americans became obese:

http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/nutritionsource/an-epidemic-of-obesity/

It is annoying when people talk about how obese people are taxing the healthcare industry because, well, the US government is partially responsible for the situation. The Dairy Council has had such a stronghold on the US government that when I was growing up in public school, you had to have a note from your doctor to drink water instead of milk at lunch. A note from your doctor to say that you need to drink water!!! Apparently in the 80’s and 90’s no one had common sense!

Ok, now go drink your latte and enjoy it… but stop pretending it’s good for you. And stop pretending that you’re not a marketing victim.

boy drinks milk

Leave a Reply

